A Commitment

Obligatory life update: I have graduated [from] high school.

But that’s not what this post is about. I contemplated setting up a schedule for my blogging three long years ago, and decided against it, because I didn’t think writing was a high enough priority for me. Well, I am setting up a schedule now: I am going to post something on this blog every day until I have to leave the country (which is happening once before college, so it’s not for as long as you think; but I might decide to continue the schedule anyway after I get back. We’ll see when the time comes.)

This has nothing to do with writing; it has everything to do with following through by actually posting the stuff I write. As of the last time I attempted to summarize my blogging status, I had 12 blog post drafts. By looking at chat logs I think it was February 7. As of starting this post, I now have, I don’t know, somewhere between 13 and 30, I lost count. I am very good at getting inspired and writing a lot of incoherent jumbles of words, and very bad at coming back the next day (or week, or month, or year) and polishing the word jumble enough to feel like I should post it. This is not a sustainable way of blogging. And since high school is over I can no longer claim that homework or other commitments are getting in the way.

Standard disclaimers: Expect low-quality stuff that is incomplete or not well thought out, and stuff entirely unlike anything previously on this blog, and one-paragraph or even one-sentence posts if I get desperate. But expect posts. And nag me (or better yet, provide post ideas (that can be explored in a single sentence)) through any communication channels you want if it’s nearing midnight in my time zone and I haven’t posted in the previous day.

This is the first day’s post.

47 thoughts on “A Commitment

  1. Pingback: Ninety-nine (card game) | BetaWorldProblems

  2. Pingback: College Emails | BetaWorldProblems

  3. Pingback: Mortality | BetaWorldProblems

  4. Pingback: Spontaneous Thoughts on Teaching | BetaWorldProblems

  5. Pingback: Signal Boost | BetaWorldProblems

  6. Pingback: Two Points on Photography | BetaWorldProblems

    • WordPress does that automatically for comments, actually, and I don’t think I can turn it off without moving my blog somewhere else to my own server and paying for it, for which this isn’t enough motivation. Although only I can see them and and I promise not to do anything shady with it. I don’t know, it might be a useful moderation tool in the future. Does it really bother you?

  7. Pingback: 8 Songs for 18 Years | BetaWorldProblems

  8. Pingback: My DNSE Story | BetaWorldProblems

  9. 昨天畢業典禮, 結束後大家感性的照相再照相, 捨不得離開. 但畢業後的第一天還是得早起, 這一天一早就上醫院打針抽血耗掉大半天, 遇見Sam和Stefanie, 繼續照像. 下午開車, 家教, 好多瑣碎的事要忙, 但你還是開始了你的commitment. 加油!

  10. Pingback: index.txt | BetaWorldProblems

  11. Pingback: Scary Cars | BetaWorldProblems

  12. Pingback: 2^10 Words | BetaWorldProblems

  13. Pingback: Quixotic Reimagining of Standardized Tests (Part 1) | BetaWorldProblems

  14. Pingback: Coming Up with Blog Post Titles Is Hard | BetaWorldProblems

  15. Pingback: zzz | BetaWorldProblems

  16. Pingback: Search Engine Terms Dump | BetaWorldProblems

  17. Pingback: Quixotic Reimagining of Standardized Tests (Part 2) | BetaWorldProblems

  18. Pingback: DOUBLE POST | BetaWorldProblems

  19. Pingback: More Fiction (Part 1) | BetaWorldProblems

  20. Pingback: Cognitive Asymptotics | BetaWorldProblems

  21. Pingback: More Fiction (Part 2) | BetaWorldProblems

  22. Pingback: (8,9,7) | BetaWorldProblems

  23. Pingback: Drop-In Filler | BetaWorldProblems

  24. Pingback: A List | BetaWorldProblems

  25. Pingback: Bilingualism II | BetaWorldProblems

  26. Pingback: Time Management | BetaWorldProblems

  27. Pingback: Nuclear II | BetaWorldProblems

  28. Pingback: Sheep | BetaWorldProblems

  29. Pingback: Self vs. Other | BetaWorldProblems

  30. Pingback: US$2,857 | BetaWorldProblems

  31. Pingback: Chi Banner | BetaWorldProblems

  32. Pingback: Phone | BetaWorldProblems

  33. Pingback: Variance | BetaWorldProblems

  34. Pingback: More of the Same | BetaWorldProblems

  35. Pingback: MIT Course Number Mnemonics | BetaWorldProblems

  36. Pingback: Phone II | BetaWorldProblems

  37. Pingback: A* | BetaWorldProblems

  38. Pingback: Translation Party | BetaWorldProblems

  39. Pingback: numbers.bmp | BetaWorldProblems

  40. Pingback: Throwback Thursday Puzzles! | BetaWorldProblems

  41. Pingback: More Fiction (Part 2.5) | BetaWorldProblems

  42. Pingback: Old Tests (and a Mysterious New Student) | BetaWorldProblems

  43. Pingback: [warp]clicker.html | BetaWorldProblems

  44. Pingback: C-c-c-Combo Breaker! | BetaWorldProblems

  45. Pingback: Glowstick Fragments | BetaWorldProblems

Leave a Reply

