Insomnia

I’m out. Although I now have to get up even earlier and wait for a long time before my steroid-pumped, furiously hungry body gets breakfast now and then (the blood test for triglyceride (a really fancy way to describe fat/oil in your blood) requires six to eight hours without eating), it’s worth it. The food is hot, I get to walk around outside, I can go to the bathroom myself, there’s a Wii, and so on. Yay for chicken and potatoes and freshly baked bread.

Yes, it’s 3:30 in the morning, and unfortunately I’m having trouble sleeping. Back in the school days I called myself an insomniac for fumbling in bed for half an hour. Things have changed… I guess I’ve slept for two to three hours this night so far. Steroids are crazy drugs.

Yesterday we went to a movie (“Jump Ashin”) with people from the hospital. It’s about a guy who loved gymnastics, refusing to do anything else. His mother, worried about his future, gets him off the team, he enters the world of gangsters (with, er, cool gymnastics fighting skillz), and gets caught up in trouble. I can’t do it justice here, but it’s definitely a good movie.

Today later around 7 A.M. I’ll go to the hospital for my blood test, as described above, only after which I can eat breakfast, and I’m worried because I’m already vaguely hungry. Oh well, you win some, you lose some. At least I’m not throwing up any more.

Leave a Reply

